dance #94, dances with alice

Wednesday March 25, 2009

dance-94-dances-with-aliceDances with Alice

Around midnight. A two minute dance with Alice in my study. I pick her up and hold her in my arms. She relaxes into my arms like a baby. I let her down, and then get down on all fours on the floor to watch her dance between the legs of my desk. She rubs her cheeks up against the metal legs, again producing sound. The sounds are almost percussive, then the sounds of sliding against metal. She rubs a few times up against one leg, then shifts her weight over to the other leg, to rub her other cheek. Back and forth. The dance is curving and arcing. I stay with her through her dance, holding the space for her movement. It was a lovely evening, warm after the spring rain.

~ by nmyers on March 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

