dance #139, performing

Saturday May 9, 2009

dance #139, performingPerforming

5:00-6:30 p.m. A first public talk on adanceaday. Somewhat petrified, I share some preliminary thoughts about this practice in an intensively technologized, wired lecture hall at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine in Sudbury. As I talk I prop myself up beside the lecturn. Holding the paper in one hand. The most memorable gesture was a way I kept trying to pull words off the page with my right hand. A kind of lifting and twist. As if it would help me enunciate, communicate. A repeated gesture, punctuating concepts. Performing dancing thought. Not sure how it went. I’m exhausted at midnight when I come to draw the dance. And I’m thinking again about the rocks in this town. It was a cold, sunny, breezy day.

~ by nmyers on May 10, 2009.

One Response to “dance #139, performing”

  1. At a public lecture on the painting of Daphne Odjig, Bonnie Devine (of the Anishnabe people of Serpent River)commented on the way the rock of the pre-cambrian shield vibrates at a higher frequency and with greater intensity than does the land in southern Ontario. Friday’s drawing put me in mind of the ancient petroglyphs of northern Ontario. But drawing above moves at a more airy rhythmn.

Leave a Reply

