dance #247, dried calendula flowers

dance #247, dried calendula flowersMonday August 24, 2009

Dried calendula flowers.

10:45 p.m. A 10 minute observation and movement study of the dried calendula flowers I gathered from my garden yesterday. The seeds are in-curving, cupping the spent corolla. They look like tiny curled worms with jagged backbones. Stems and corolla are transformed to wood. All the turgidity of the blooming flower, its bright orange fleshy vibrant aliveness has turned to wood. Seeds snare and hook. There are delicate, papery fronds on the underside. The dance tries to move with the quality of the dried flower. The gesture I find is gaping open at the centre. Arms spread out, hands monstrous, angular. Finding moments of calm between this gesture it moves through me again and again. Not sure yet what I’m learning through these observations. Alice wants love. The night cools nicely.

~ by nmyers on August 25, 2009.

Leave a comment